International Women’s Day

image1s

Happy International Women’s Day to all the amazing women out there!

It isn’t always easy being a woman but sometimes we don’t make it easy on ourselves. I wish instead of always finding negatives about people we could learn to focus on the good things.

I’ve been trying to remain positive for the last few months. It took a couple of people close to me telling me how they perceive me to take a look at myself.

I didn’t like the way the people I love see me. It’s not that I feel like I need to change, but more that I feel like everything I did to this point was a waste of effort because it was all taken the wrong way. I feel like the people I love the most don’t really understand me at all.

I found someone whose presence in my life made me the best version of myself I’ve ever been. With their support I reached new levels in my career and life. For the first time I felt like I had my life sorted and knew what I wanted and where to go.

When they walked out of my life it was a shock. I miss having that person and that level of support every day, I grieve for it every day. I wish every day I could turn the clock back and have things the way they were.

Without that support I no longer feel like the person who can reach those heights. I feel like a person trapped by her own fears and negativity.

They taught me what you can do with support and I now try to do that for others. I probably get it all wrong and come across as being pushy but I try.

Maybe my role is to be the one that’s there for others, to build them up but never find where my place in life really is.

It took someone telling me all the good things about me and building me up to help me achieve. Who knows what my efforts at building others up have helped them achieve.

It might not always be easy to tell people how you feel about them or to show you care but you never know when they need to hear it. I like to think if we all showed each other a little more kindness then the world would be a much nicer place to live.

We all need positive role models but we can also choose to be them!

Leave a Reply

